Reiss Blacksmith & Repair Shop was founded by Paul Reiss in 1886 and for 48 years specialized in shoeing horses and fabricating wagons until Paul’s death in 1934. His son, Frank, inherited the shop and continued with what his father created as he raised a son who shared his father’s name, Paul.
Young Paul spent his adolescence living in a duplex behind the shop and growing up in the shop before entering the army during WWII. After the war, Paul returned home in 1948 and went into business with his father. Young Paul and Frank worked together for a brief period before Frank approached his 21-year-old son and asked him to take over.
After Frank’s retirement, the shop was renamed Reiss Welding and Paul continued expanding the business over the next sixty years. In 2015, Paul sold the shop to Erin and Todd Surinak when he realized that the Surinaks would build on what his family created.
The new business, Reiss Structural and Architectural Products, LLC will continue with the Reiss family tradition of providing high-quality and unique metalwork.